News Archive


The OCTC Speech Team hosted the 18th Annual BBQ Capital of the World Forensics Tournament on the main campus on November 6-7, 2009. The tournament attracted over 120 competitors from 10 colleges and universities from Kentucky, Tennessee, Indiana, and South Carolina.

Transylvania University won the Parliamentary Debate division. Tennessee Tech won first place in the University Sweepstakes Division. The OCTC team outperformed community college squads from Volunteer and Gateway colleges to win first place sweepstakes in the 2 Year Division.

OCTC speakers also won several individual events awards at the tournament. Jon Rowe, Freshman-Owensboro, first place in Radio Broadcasting, and finalist honors in Dramatic Interpretation. Rowe was also won top novice awards in Poetry and Impromptu Speaking. James Smith, Freshman-Owensboro competing in his first collegiate tournament earned second place in Communication Analysis and finalist awards in Impromptu Speaking and Impromptu Counseling. Smith and Rowe as a duo, also placed among the top 10 speakers in Quadrathon, a category in which students entered in four or more events compete for top honors.

Victoria Kullman, Freshman-Owensboro, competed in Impromptu Counseling and assisted in the debate and individual events tab rooms throughout the tournament.

Rebecca Schwallie, Freshman-Owensboro, assisted in the debate tab room during

the first day of the tournament.

Other tournament results of interest included: Katrina Mineo of Transylvania was the top overall open debate speaker in Parlimentary and Mark Mirse of Tennessee Tech was the top novice debate speaker. Aaron Trembath of Purdue University won Quardrathon as the top overall forensics speaker at the tournament, earning first place in Impromptu, and third place awards in Poetry and Prose Interpretation.

The OCTC Speech and Debate Team wishes to express deep appreciation to all those who judged or assisted during the tournament including: Dr. Bob Glenn, Faculty Advisor, Leonard Schroader-Maintenance and Operations, Dr. Scott Williams-hosting and awards, Mary Durr, Room Scheduling, Bernie Hale-P.R., Tammy Rice, Assistant Tournament coordinator, Holly Glenn, Hospitality coordinator, Suzanne Craig, Ballot Table Consultant, Audrey Cunningham-Individual events tab, Dr. Billy Wooten-Debate tab, Caitlin Glenn-round scheduling and prep room coordinator, Melissa Hardesty prep room, and Dora Smith-Debate Tab assistant. Judges: Dr. Julia Ledford, Jerry Goetz, Steve Strong, Dr. Stacy Edds-Ellis, Katie Walker, Teresa Collins, Tonya Northenor, Kevin Beardmore, Tori Forncrook, Susan Swanson, Dr. Karin Chess, Dawn Taylor, Erin Hall, Vickie Curtis, Meredith Skaggs, Melanie Hardesty, Byron Carmon, Teresa Taylor, Steve Bridgmon, Bruce Whitmer, Dan Russell, Alyce Toler, Debbie Ruth, Keith Sharber, Kaye Brown, Sheila Jarboe, Kevin Jarboe, Mary Kinney, Jordan Patsalides, Dr. Kathleen Peters, Bruce Whitmer, Carla Smith, Tammy Bozarth, Dan Hildenbrandt, Dr. Tony Obliade, Tay Williams, Brittney McKinney, Taunya Kreistle, Serena Siaki, Judy Graves, and Tammy Rice. Thanks again to all who helped make this years tournament a great success.