OCTC Speakers Win Team Individual Awards | OCTC

News Archive

OCTC Speakers Win Team Individual Awards

Owensboro Community amp; Technical College hosted the 19th Annual BBQ Capital Speech and Debate Tournament on the main campus November 5-6, 2010. The OCTC team compiled 40 total sweepstakes points to win First Place in the 2-Year College Division.

John Austin, sophomore-Owensboro, earned a host of individual awards while competing in debate and individual events to lead the OCTC team in the squad's second tournament of the season. Austin earned 2nd in Informative Speaking, 3rd in Radio Broadcasting, and 3rd in Impromptu Counseling. He also earned a top novice award in Extemporaneous Speaking and a 5th place Novice team debate award with teammate Kevin Jarboe, Freshman-Owensboro. Jarboe also earned a speaker award, 7th Place. Other OCTC awards included: Amy Johns, Freshman-Boonville, 5th place, Informative Speaking; Tara Lee, Sophomore-Owensboro, 5th place, Novice Debate speaker award; Adam Marshall, Freshman-Owensboro, 9th place Novice Debate speaker award.

Many faculty, staff, and community members in addition to the OCTC Debate Team, assisted with the tournament and we appreciate their efforts: Holly Glenn, Caitlin Glenn, Melissa Hardesty, Bobby Glenn, Tammy Rice, Debbie Ruth, Molly Gibson, Mike Boyd, Kevin Beardmore, Wes Bartlett, Meredith Skaggs, Amber Leach, Ken Berggren, Jason Leudke, Dana Minton, Amanda Ball, Tori Forncrook, Tonya Northenor, Matt Branham, Kaye Brown, Tony Obliade, Barbara Bradley, Krista Calloway, Donna Abell, Karin Chess, Jerry Bennett, Dan Hildenbrandt, Sydia Thompson, Rebecca Baggerly, Savannah Baggerly, Mark Seaman, Laura Seaman, Sheila Jarboe, Kevin Jarboe, Adam Marshall, and Suzanne Craig-Tian. Special thanks to Terry Floyd and Jerry Cartwright who handled all our logistical needs through M amp; O and campus security. Dr. Scott Williams presided over the awards ceremony and Chef Michael Middlebrooks along with his Culinary Arts students helped serve meals.